Reviews

Reviews

It's important you know what others think when choosing where you stay, which is why TripAdvisor has become so important. Please do check out our TripAdvisor page but also, here are some of the comments we've recently received.

One of the best reviews we could have hoped for!

Now, this kind of review is worth much more than gold.

A beautiful picture drawn by Gabriella Sabeeny (aged 4) who stayed with her sister Jamie (12), brother Joshua (14) and their parents from the 26th July to 1st Aug 2014.

We'll miss you all and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 August 2014

UK’s leading travel writer Paul Gogarty talks about Calabash Grenada

 

Paul Gogarty has 20 years experience as a travel consultant; travel editor; TV presenter (including three seasons with BBC 1’s Holiday programme); lecturer in travel journalism; award-winning author; prolific travel and property contributor to major magazines and national newspapers - including a decade as Chief Travel Writer for the Daily Telegraph - so he really knows his stuff!

Paul's addiction to Calabash started in 2004 and, like so many others, he has made staying at Calabash Grenada a habit. Paul has been kind enough to share the reasons why he loves the resort and the island so much. 

 

Reviewed 15 July 2014

A Thank You Letter

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Believe it all!

The reviews you read here are well deserved. This is a fabulous hideaway, just the right size in terms of numbers of rooms, guests etc. extensive lawned areas make the place seem spacious and there is no feeling of being crowded ever. Mark's place deserves all the praise it gets with a lovely range of small (tapas) dishes to more substantial meals. People from the boats and round about drop in for lunch. Kermisha was our charming waitress most days with a radiant smile although she says she doesn't like smiling! The house drinks and wines are all fine, no need to splash out on anything else unless you really need to.

We are all of a certain age who stay at Calabash but it doesn't mean we are boring or snobby. We made a number of friends whilst there and got the low down on other Carribean destinations.

There are a high number of returnees and they may seem a bit cliquey but on better acquaintance they really aren't. The family Garbutt are high visibility which is always a good sign and any slight defect is quickly remedied (apart from the height of the tennis net!). The Rhodes restaurant has a good range of dishes of all styles including lighter bites if you over indulged at lunchtime. Michael and Sherlynne lead an excellent team here with talented cooking in the kitchen.

Breakfast is delightful as described below and evening drinks and canopies at 6.00 whilst getting ready for dinner is a delightful touch. Linda was our housekeeper and a star.

The only downside was when the hotel filled up with returnees, a few mornings saw towels onto beds by 7.30am. Fortunately some morning showers inhibited this. More beds were brought out too with some on the lawns to give an even better choice. The pool area is spacious next to the gym.

A review would not be complete without mentioning Sally (Hazel) and her team in the spa. You may feel in the short term you have gone five rounds with Mike Tyson but the lasting effects are excellent. The location is fantastic although you might need oxygen after the steps up.

When you dream of a Caribbean holiday, this is the place you are seeing in your dreams. Be happy!

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our lovely holiday with you

We must write to you and thank you for our lovely holiday with you.

We had a really great time and were looked after beautifully by your 
staff and their lovely smiling faces.  From our breakfasts to our 
evening meal our whole day was a complete joy.  We shall remember all 
of you for ever.  Our friends, the McAffers and ourselves consider 
ourselves very lucky to have been able to spend a week with you.

Kind regards,

Heather and Eddy Leeves.

Nov 2013

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Best in Grenada

We have just returned from two perfect weeks at The Calabash. Having visited many of the Caribbean Islands over the years, we tried The Spice Island Resort in 2012, but, for us, The Calabash was much better !

All the Staff were friendly, informative and helpful. Our room (no.18) was excellent. Spacious, lots of equipment, and a first for us: our own plunge pool which had lots of sun on the water between 9-3pm, great for cooling down after resting on the beach and swimming in the sea.

The grounds were very pretty, lots of blossom, flowers and trees, which provided plenty of shade near the beach if wanted.

Lots of comfortable sun loungers too, and no need to rush - plenty for everyone. Breakfast was cooked for you and served on your own terrace, overlooking the grounds/beach - a real treat.

Lunch was taken at Mark B`s beach bar and restaurant, with a perfect location overlooking the beautiful Bay, with lots of boats bobbing about.

But, leaving the best until last, Dinner ! We eat every night at the Gary Rhodes Restaurant where the setting, service, and food were first class. We will be back !

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wonderful

We stayed here for our honeymoon as we had been advised how luxurious it was, and we weren't disappointed.
We had a pool suite which was gorgeous, with separate sitting room and bedroom and our own pool. Breakfast on your own balcony is a lovely, personal way to start the day. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the beach is lovely. The beach itself is wonderful.
The staff are friendly, polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Pool area is lovely and clean.
The Rhodes and Bash restaurants are both excellent. Spa is also excellent.
An outstanding, world-class hotel experience.

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Wonderful A+

 

We've been fortunate to vacation in the Caribbean many times (dozens) but never Grenada. Wow, we were missing a slice a paradise for all those years. We had a wonderful time, the room was huge with a gorgeous view straight onto the beach - fabulous. All the staff were extremely helpful and I met a lot of guests who were repeat customers coming back year after year. The food was delicious and the ambiance in the restaurant was just the best, all in all an excellent hotel and fab beach and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anybody whether couples, individuals or families.

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reviewed 30 November 2012

“Great service and brilliant staff”

Our thanks to Clive and his team for welcoming us to their superb hotel following the closure of Le Source where we were originally booked. In retrospect we should have booked the Calabash as a first preference - it suited our needs exactly.

Don't go here if you want organised activities and entertainment throughout the day but do if you want a relaxed time and to be pampered by excellent inobtrusive first class service.

The resturants are all good (the Rhodes is excellent) and the cocktails are well constructed! The beach is quiet and spacious and lunch at the beach bar is very good. There are only 30 rooms in the hotel and as far as we could tell all are first class and comfortable. The advantage of this is that you can be as sociable or as unsociable as you wish without feeling pressured either way; the friendliness of the staff rubbed off on the guests and we met some lovely people to spend the week with.


Scubatech are the on-site diving shop and their kit and experience is good and although they were having problems with boat engines while we were there this did not detract from the diving. The people of Grenada are universally friendly and there is always a smile with the service.

Overall a great experience.

Reviewed 28 November 2012

Out of this world

This was my first visit back to Grenada after 25 years and I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. An excellent meal awaited me in the restaurant in the evening despite my plane being over 1.5 hours late. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was immaculately prepared. But just imagine waking up in the morning to a clear blue sky and the sun shining on the lawns leading to the white sandy beach just a few yards away. I was really spoilt for choice. Should I swim in my own private pool attached to the room or the sparkling calm sea? I chose the latter and wasn't disappointed. The sea was warm and inviting and there were few people around to spoil the tranquility. I could have stayed there all day but chose to explore the many delights of this beautiful island. I can highly recommend this hotel with its welcoming atmosphere - an out of this world experience.

Travelled June 2012

Reviewed 25 June 2012

One in a million!!!!!!!!!

We have just returned from two wonderful weeks at the beautiful Calabash. From the minute we were greeted by receptionist Trudy and Manager Clive, to the time we were waved off by Clive we were treated to one of the best , if not the best, hotel experiences we have ever experienced.

Firstly our room - we stayed at Cup of Gold Pool Suite (room 22) - it was lovely with a huge terrace opening onto the beautifully kept gardens where our delicious breakfasts were served every morning (make sure you try the pancakes with nutmeg syrup!!) . We had a large lounge which lead into the bedroom with an extremely comfortable and huge bed which then opens out to the lovely pool area which is a fantastic little suntrap and provides extra privacy and a delightful way to cool off after a day in the glorious Grenadian sunshine !

The Gary Rhodes restaurant is an absolute must when staying at The Calabash. Dexter and his team provide the most exquisite food providing a Rhodes Menu as well as the Chef Specials - all as delicious as each other. The service in the restaurant is second to none and the setting of it overlooking the grounds is just magical under the moonlight with the flickering torchlight flames. Also the Beach restuarant is wonderful and we enjoyed several lunches there - the barbequed specials were always delicious and Leslie-Ann runs a very efficient bar service there as well - always with a lovely smile !

I could wax lyrically for hours about this hotel, but the point that makes The Calabash stand apart from any other is the Staff. Everyone treats like you are a person - not a number ; everything done for you is genuine and heartfelt and I was so sad to say goodbye to some new friends. Special mention goes to Desmond who is one of the funniest and lovely people we have ever met on our travels , Rhondi and George also - again, the warmest welcome and treatment you could expect to receive , each shown from both of them. Also, Sherilyn and Ingrid in Rhodes - absolute stars , and always brought a smile and made the eating experince even more perfect.

This little gem of a hotel is an absolute must for anyone who enjoys getting away from everything , good food and the most wonderful team of staff you could ever meet. We are definately returning to Calabash and cannot wait to do so

Room Tip: Go for a pool room if you can - they are fabulous!

Stayed June 2012

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Top Hotel!

Just got back. Agree with all previous reviews
We are: 50 year old parents, daughter 21, son 19
We always choose places where there is something active to do in the morning, then chill out in the afternoon.

Close to airport (no worries about noise as only 3 planes taking off per day)
Beach: Every part of hotel virtually on the sand! Beautiful sheltered bay with clean, level beach.
Pool: Freshwater. Quiet
Gym: Small but plenty! 2 x running, stepper, bicycle, full bench weights, aircon
Scuba: Friendly, efficient, professional dive centre few steps from all rooms! House jetty with dive boat. Can get choppy so take TripTone seasickness tablets!
Snorkelling: didnt do snorkel trips organised by Dive Centre. Only like to snorkel for half-hour at time so snorkelled from beach. Visability not great but still interesting.near rocks on right.
Other activities: Taxi to Seven Sisters Waterfalls. Can trek without guide but better with guide as path to lowest waterfall steep & slippery and stepping through streams. We met great 'Acrobatic guide' who took us up path. Sensible visitors rest on rocks or swim in pool under waterfall. Slight nutters jump off lowest waterfall. Total nutters climb path to top and jump off all 7 waterfalls. Only possible with guidance (husband and son lucky to be alive).
Other beaches:
Magazin Beach - snorkelling better due to small reef right on beach. Clearer water. Beach not as good because narrow/steep/unsheltered. Borrow fins/mask/snorkel from Calabash. We took taxi (10-min) to Granadian Rex Resort (top end of Magazin Beach), hired kayak from their dive centre and snorkelled/canoed along reef/beach. Another day we took taxi to Aquarium restaurant (bottom end of Magazin Beach), hired kayak and snorkelled/canoed around rocks.
Restaurants:
Rhodes at Calabash - smart dress, superior food & service
Red Crab (10 mins walk from hotel) - casual dress, superior food & service
Beach House (10 min taxi) - casual dress, superior food
Aquarium Restaurant (10 min taxi to Magazin beach) - casual dress, trendy like Nandos, club music)


Best thing about this hotel: QUIET - no crowds, no queues, no jostling for sunbeds or tables!
Plain gated entrance/reception but beautiful, luxurious, exclusive hotel behind!

 

Stayed April 2012

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Congratulations to Calabash!

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Guest Review

The hotel is wonderful with great staff providing an excellent service. The restaurant also serves excellent food so we were pleased we had gone for half board although I’m now going to spend the next few weeks losing the additional pounds I added despite using the gym while I was there!

Reviewed 26 March 2012

An Expert’s Review

 

The five-star Calabash hotel’s thirty suites are split into five types and set in individual villas amongst manicured gardens. Just 15 minutes from st. george’s and five from the airport, the hotel is famous for its Gary Rhodes restaurant and is also home of the heaven and earth spa, set on the lush hillside above Calabash. Did you know? Breakfast at Calabash is served individually in your suite each morning, prepared
and laid out by your own maid! “I love the setting of Calabash. Although there are no private beaches in Grenada, the beach Calabash is set on really feels like one, particularly because of the lovely, relaxed beach bar."


“Gary Rhodes’ restaurant is a gorgeous, natural setting, with white flowers trailing down above the tables. Even if you don’t stay at the hotel, go to the restaurant for a meal – the food is incredible! My ground floor pool suite is fabulous. The bed is amazingly comfortable and a door leads outside to my plunge pool and an outdoor shower too. Calabash comes highly recommended for couples, it’s quiet and relaxed.” 

Gaby Scholes, Hallmark Travel

Selling Long Hall Magazine - January 2012

Reviewed 16 January 2012

OUR GRENADIAN HOLIDAY

 

We thought let’s have a holiday – a short pre-Christmas dash
I’d longed to see the Spice Island, so we booked the Calabash.
Whilst one can be disappointed with the places that you stay
The Calabash was splendid, almost perfect in every way.
Our plunge pool was delightful, our own private place to sit.
Whilst the personal service breakfast, has gone down such a hit.
Then there was the restaurant – culinary delights by Gary Rhodes.
With the waiting staff extraodinaire and the cocktails – we tried loads!!
One special waiter, Mike Patrice, was a poet on the side,
He shared his poem on Barack Obama, which he’d written with great pride.
His books available in reception, our own Grenadian poet,
Lo and behold his talent has rubbed off before you know it.
But we came to see the island for it’s special spice delights,
So off we went to Laura’s spice garden, where we reached dizzy heights.
The cloves and nutmeg, turmeric, now naming just a few,
Whilst Cinnamon to support diabetes – a cure we could use too.
Then off we drove to see the crater lake and spot a moaner monkey
Just one last thing by Fort Fredrick – where the sunset sky was funky.
Next day we flew to the Grenadines, spotting turtles by the score,
Then we did some snorkeling, saw pretty box fish we adore.
A rainforest hike with Selwyn, was the order of the day
After which a relaxing session in the spa – what can one say!!
As Sally and Sue relaxed us – “watch the fishy in the bowl”
I thought I’d died and gone to heaven – but my head was in a hole.
Then off onto the private garden tour where we saw a heliconia or two,
All different species of Orchids winning awards at Chelsea – as you do!
Next stop we hit the diving school, the Scubatech run by Sabine,
We booked some dives in “Art by Nature” – which simply should be seen.
Of course, there was “Fish Friday” – a great Grenadian tradition,
The locals go, the music plays and of course there’s been lot’s of fishing.
So we sailed out from the Prickly Bay direct to the Gouyave pier,
This was the first trip for a while – it had been closed for a year.
Oh what a sunset, what a night, we really could say more,
Grenada is so wonderful – there is so much here to adore.
Still one last trip to Carricou is waiting as a final treat,
Then back we go to colder climes – snow sometimes can be neat!!
But in our head great memories from our Grenadian days and nights,
Where we dived and snorkeled came and saw those special spice delights.

Julie Badon
December 2011
Suite 20 at the Calabash

Reviewed 13 December 2011

“A Gem in the Caribbean”

We recently returned from a memorable holiday in Greneda. This truly magnificent hotel imust be one of the best we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. Our suite was amazing right next to the beach and immaculate gardens. The breakfast 'maid service' provides a great alternative to the normal dining room breakfast buffet with everything served fresh and to order by your personal maid. Rhodes restaurant is quite superb and serves the finest food you could imagine with great attention to detail. The management and staff are all welcoming, friendly and very keen to ensure your stay is a memorable experience.
This is as near to perfection as it gets and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: The 'west side' suites are closest to the lovely beach.
See more room tips

Reviewed 28 November 2011

“Fabulous Calabash!”

First impressions Wow!...last impressions WOW!!! This trip was way beyond our expectations.From the moment you arrive you are taken care. Our Suite(33) was all we could wish for. Sandra serving our breakfast on our terrace every morning...Beach Bar is a delight with all the team taking great care of drinks and food.The beach is as good as private. Canapes are served every evening delivered to your suite at 6pm......Then dinner in the Rhodes Restaurant. There you are looked after by Maitre d 'Michael and Assistant Maitre d 'Sherlyn. Food is excellant with a menu to please everyone.Indra Head of Reception and all bookings keeps front of house in order! If you get time don't forget the Spa where Sue will give you fab treatments.. Lastly we must also thank General Manager Clive Barnes for his welcome and his hospitality.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple

Reviewed 31 October 2011

“Wonderful hotel!”

I loved this hotel from the moment I arrived; the staff are so friendly and seem are genuinely happy to help with anything that is asked of them. The rooms are beautifully finished with lovely artwork and simple, fresh colour schemes. Spotlessly clean throughout, the bathrooms were lovely. The beach feels very private and safe and there is a great watersports company right on the beach offering everything from snorkelling to diving. The food both in the beach restaurant and in Rhodes restaurant was fabulous. There was a really great Spa with superb views out to sea. I would return in an instant and highly recommend it for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I would suggest treating yourself to one with a plunge pool.

Reviewed 31 October 2011

“Perfect setting, luxury and great food combined”

The Calabash gives you that instant 'Oh, isnt it wonderful' feeling'. The rooms are spacious with your own sitting areas and everything you might wish for , many have their own private pool and the beds are wonderful. The beach is almost private and has a beachbar com lunchtime restaurant right there.
Breakfast...well you have that served on your own balcony or patio and to your heart's content. The staff just can't do enough for you. At night the Rhodes restaurant comes alive. The food is outstanding and the setting is wonderful. It feels magic.
And of course if you can tear yourself away , there is the whole of beautiful Grenada to explore. All very well worth a visit.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business

Reviewed 31 October 2011

“The best in Caribbean - Heaven on earth!”

I recently went to Grenada and stayed at the Calabash. The Calabash is a very beautiful hotel with extra-ordinary staffs. The staff were very very helpful, and were more than eager to go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. They even allowed me to take along with me a book of my favorite player, Frank Lampard, as I was in the middle of reading it and was loving it.

Grenada was a very beautiful place and Calabash made the entire experience AMAZING.... The location and beauty of the property, coupled with the extra ordinary service and super friendly staff, made my trip something I would cherish for a long time.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple.

Reviewed 1 June 2011
Reviews
One of the best reviews we could have hoped for! Now, this kind of review is worth much more than gold. A beautiful picture drawn by Gabriella Sabeeny (aged 4) who stayed with her family from the 26th July to 1st Aug 2014. Reviewed 1 August 2014
Click for more reviews
Offers Festive Season - 20% Off

20% Discount
between 21 Dec 2014 and 1 Jan 2015

Click for more offers
How to Book